Countdown to Two Years in Office

Days Hours
Minutes Seconds

Photo Speak - Screening of Commissioner nominees by the State Legislators

Cross section of commissioner nominees waiting to be screened by the legislators Group photograph of the nominated commissioners after their screenig Dr. Chinedu Emeka fielding questions from the legislators during the screening execrise

Former SUN MD, 18 others make Obiano's commissioner nominees' list

April 10, 2014

ANAMBRA State governor, Chief Willie Obiano, yesterday, submitted 19 names to the State House of Assembly for confirmation as commissioners.

Those who made the list include former Managing Director of The SUN Newspapers, Mr. Anthony Onyima, who was listed as Commissioner for Information nominee, as well as two former commissioners in the cabinet of former Governor Peter Obi, Mr. Callistus Ilozumba, Works; and Mrs. Azuka Enemuo, Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs.

The other commissioners are Greg Obi (Finance), Lawrence Chinwuba (Housing), Professor Solomon Chukwu (Economic planning and Budget), Ifeatu Onyejeme (Trade and Commerce), Dr. Victoria Chukwuelu (Women Affairs), Dr. Chinedu Emeka (Public Utilities, Water Resources) and Chukwuma Mbonu (Transport)

The rest are Evaristus Ubah (Environment), Stella Onuorah (Lands, Survey and Urban Development), Professor Kate Omenugha of the Mass Communication Department of Nnamdi Azikiwe University, (Education), Tony Nnachetam, who was a former vice chairman of NFA (Youth and Sports), Norbert Obi (Special Duties), Dr. Josephat Akabuike (Health), Nnamdi Mekoh (Agriculture) and Obi Nwankwo (Science and Technology)

Speaking after the presentation of the nominees, the Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Princess Chinwe Nwebili, said the nominees were carefully selected from the vast pool of the state.

Anambra: Light of the Nation

Countdown to Two Years in Office